The story of Goldilocks and Orly’s Bare Rose Polish

23 Nov

So last night there was A LOT of trial and error with Orly’s French Manicure Polish in Bare Rose.

I know what you’re thinking – this is not a new polish. I am aware of that, but it is new to me as I usually do my French with a light pink or beige. Well I’ve been wanting a more natural look and found great reviews about this polish, but it took a few tries to get the color to look just right on my skin tone (I’m fair with pink undertones). I was aiming at a more natural looking French manicure so could take a break from my usual pink and white.

First I was told to apply two coats over bright white tips so that I have a natural looking tip. Big mistake! It made my tips look too pink and the rest of my nail neon. There’s no picture, it came off as soon as I saw the neon.

Then I was told two coats of Bare Rose and a light nude on the tip. I tried that but ended up with a too bright combo that wasn’t the look I was going for. It’s a cute color combo, nude and hot pink, but not right for my nails.

20111116-004438.jpg

Finally I ended up with one coat (when is the last time I did that?) of Bare Rose and a light nude tip. Just perfect! I finished off with my favorite top coat & now my nails look like an enhanced version of natural (just like when you go out with only concealer and mascara)!

20111116-004327.jpg

Leave a Reply

