Staying Active While Injured

15 Nov

I know this blog’s focus is looking great while out on the run, but there hasn’t been any running the past two weeks! What’s happened?!

I’ve injured myself and am currently in physical therapy so unfortunately it looks like there won’t be much running for the rest of the month. I’ve been relegated to Pilates and not much else – yuck!

But, to keep myself active and provide some focus I have devised an incentive plan for working through an injury. This plan allows me to start off just doing the PT moves (and Pilates) and then gradually move up levels as I get better :

  Level Time Breakdown Total Min./Wk Incentive

1

Beginner

30×3

90

n/a

2

Novice

30×5

150

1 diet root beer

3

On Track

45×4

180

Bubble Bath

4

Doing Well

45×4+60

240

n/a

5

Awesome

45×4+120

300

Trashy magazine

6

Getting There

45×5+120

345

New Nail Polish

7

Smokin’

60×7

420

Pedicure

8

You Want It

60×7+120

540

Massage at great place

9

Looking Good

60×7+180

600

Facial

10

Are you on DCC?

120×6

720

New Work Out Gear

As you can see it is designed to incentivize working out more as my injury gets better, but if I do more than the minimum I will still earn a weekly reward! I have set this up as something to keep me going over the next 4 months (eek!) but am looking forward to finally be doing moves beyond the physical therapy repetitions.

How do you work through injuries? What do you do with all that free time?
I don’t know what to do with myself Tuesday evenings because I’m so used to running with my training group for the past 6 months!

Leave a Reply

